AMSGNY Announcements

Spring 2014 Meeting

The spring meeting of the AMSGNY will take place on Saturday, April 26th, New York University. Proposals on the subject "Music and the Other Arts" (250 word maximum) may be sent to DrJSDailey at and jonathan.waxman at by February 25th. Put "AMSGNY Spring 2014" in the subject line.

Recital--Syliva Kahane and Marc Coppey

The French cellist Marc Coppey, accompanied by former AMSGNY president Sylvia Kahane, will be performing in Manhattan on Thursday, 6 February 2014, at 1:00 p.m. The performance is presented under the auspices of the Music in Midtown series, produced by the CUNY Graduate Center's PhD and DMA programs in Music. It takes place in Elebash Recital Hall, 365 Fifth Avenue at 34th Street. Admission is free. The program consists of: Fauré: Elégie Dutilleux: Trois Strophes sur le nom de Sacher Carter: Figment; Cello Sonata Brahms: Sonata in E minor, Op. 38 The recital, approximately 75 minutes long, will be followed by a master class featuring the Graduate Center's DMA students.

Winter 2014 Meeting

The winter meeting of the AMSGNY will take place on Saturday, January 25th, at Columbia University.  Proposals on any musical subject (250 word maximum) may be sent to DrJSDailey at aol.comand jonathan.waxman at by December 15th.  Put "AMSGNY Winter 2014" in the subject line. 

Lecture on Beethoven's 9th Symphony at the Juilliard School

Juilliard would like to extend an invitation to members of the AMS Greater New York Chapter to our special event on Tuesday, October 1, 5:00 pm, featuring a lecture by Dr. Nicolas Bell (Curator, Music Manuscripts, British Library) titled “Beethoven’s Choral Symphony and the Philharmonic Society of London.” The lecture is presented in conjunction with a historic joint exhibit of Juilliard’s manuscript of Beethoven’s 9th symphony alongside the RPS copy. Both scores will also be on exhibit at the Morgan Library from October 8 through December 1, 2013. Call (212) 769-7409 to reserve tickets.

© 2008 American Musicological Society of Greater New York
Blogger Templates by GeckoandFly | Blog customization by Jeff C. Li and Philip D. Reid.
Image © 2008 bigdrumthump. Used under Creative Commons license.
No part of the content or the blog may be reproduced without prior written permission.